1 down, 3 to go.

1 down and 3 to go… years of college that is. About a week and a half ago now I finished my 1st year of college in New York City and it was definitely a bumpy road to say the least. Moving to NYC for college was really the first time that I had been away from home; and I’m going to be honest, it was a tough transition for me. But, I made it through. The amount of work and difficulty of it wasn’t really what tripped me up, it was the difference in lifestyle and being on my own. Roommate and ‘friend’ drama all within my first 2 weeks wasn’t really what I wanted to be dealing with either while trying to find my way around the big apple. I haven’tย found the place where I feel like I belongย in NYC yet, but I’ve got time. Now that i’ve made some friends and feel more comfortable walking around the concrete jungle I’m not as worried or scared as I was a year ago. When I move back to the city in August I know i’ll be in a completely different place as when I moved in the previous year. I’m excited to see how much I continue to grow and where the next year will take me, but of course still a little nervous. It’s just who I am, I can’t help it.

This coming up year I’m going to challenge myself. I want to push myself to explore the city more and take advantage of my surroundings. After all, I’m living in ย New York City, something some people only get to dream about. Without making this sound depressing, this past year I spent most weekends alone or taking a trip back home. Partially because I hadn’t gotten comfortable yet or really found friends who I could go out with. This year though, I want it to be a little different.

Heres to another year and new exciting adventures! But first, summer! ๐Ÿ™‚
xo, Brianna

Leave a Reply

